Teacher quick guide

Jump to: navigation, search

In Teachume, a teacher has responsibility for the materials in their own course. They often also manage enrolments and are able to change the layout of the course page. This quick start guide introduces Teachume's features to those with the Teacher role.

Course set up

A course is a space on a Teachume site where teachers can add learning materials for their students. A teacher may have more than one course and a course may include more than one teacher and more than one group of learners.

By default a regular teacher can't add a new course. See Adding a new course for information on how courses may be created.

A course can display its materials in a number of ways or 'formats', for example in weekly sections or named topic sections. You can show all the sections at once or just reveal one at a time. See Course settings for more information.

Course sections may be renamed by turning to Edit Mode and clicking View Mode/Edit Mode button. Sections may also be moved by drag and drop and sections added or removed by clicking the + or - underneath the bottom section.

Course enrolment

Before a learner can access your course, they must first be authenticated on the site and that is the responsibility of the site administrator.

Enrolment methods

There are several enrolment methods available to a teacher, what is available, again, depends on the site administrator. The admin might enrol students into course automatically, or the teacher might be able to let students enrol themselves.

Note: Guests can only view the course and its resources; they cannot participate in any activities.


An enrolment key may be set if Self enrolment is enabled so that only students with the key can enter.

Grading

Every course has its own Gradebook which can record scores from assignments , quizzes , peer assessment workshops, 'branching' lessons and SCORM activities

The grader report

Other activities such as forums, databases and glossaries can have ratings enabled which will also then be reflected in the gradebook.

Tracking progress

If completion tracking has been enabled for the site and in the course, you can then set completion conditions in activity settings. A checkbox will appear next to the activity and a student may either be allowed to tick it manually, or a tick will display once criteria for that particular activity have been met. This feature can be combined with Course completion so that when certain activities have been completed and/or grades obtained, the course itself is marked complete.

Completion boxes

Badges can also be issued, manually or based on completion criteria to act as a motivator and record of course progress.

Restricting access

A course can be set to display everything to everyone all the time, or it can be very restrictive, displaying certain items at certain times, to certain groups or based on performance in previous tasks.

Options for restricting access

Course items and sections may be manually hidden using the 'hide' icon when turning to Edit Mode. If Restrict access has been enabled by the administrator then a Restrict access section will display in each course activity and resource, allowing you to choose how and when this item will be revealed, and whether to hide it completely or show it greyed out with the conditions for access.